Blog due May 9 Wednesday at 11:59 PM

This week is National Nurses Week. Your goal is to post about a Nursing Experience that was either very positive or very negative for you personally.

When I was a child my father was in the Marine Corps, and there the Nurse are called “Corpsmen”.  Thre were no women in nusing in the hospitals that I went to.  There might have been women nurses, but I never got to see one of them. The corpsmen were very kind to me and my mother had me be very respectful of them.  They gave really painless innoculations, which I of course had to have throughout my childhood.  The second time I dealt with a lot of nurses was when my son had encephalitis.  Once again the pediatric nurses were very kind to me.   

17 responses to “Blog due May 9 Wednesday at 11:59 PM

  1. Chris GonzalezOnce I had to go to the emergency hospital when I was four because I had an accident where the shard of metal had stricken me. I was in there for 3 days. I remember how the nurse would kept on checking in me to see if I was comfortable. The nurse was very courteous. I consider this to be a positive experience to me of how the incident had been heart-pounding, Its nice to have being taken care of in a time of need.

  2. Turner, JessicaI believe a nurse will always be nice; they go into that industry for a reason. There was on time when my sister was nine and she had a high fever of 104 then we had to rush her to the hospital before it increased. The nurses took her in right away and they were constantly montering her. They realized that it wasn't just a high fever but a lot more. The nurses gave her medicine and even other pills to get rid of the bacteria. The nurses had a positive side to this when they brought a popcicle for my sister and I.

  3. Gleason, MichaelRecently, My mom had to go to the hospital because she had a serious panic attack. We went to the hospital and the nurses there were so nice, and they were all very attentive and since it was cold, the nurse gave me and my Aunt a blanket that was heated. They also tested my mom for everything else to make sure nothing was wrong. Overall, it was a very positive experience and I am thankful that they are.

  4. Merus, Richard I been to many clinics, hospitals, and many more medical centers during my early childhood and the nurses have always been polite, gentle but as a child I despised the nurses for one reason: shots. I had a strong apprehension towards shots. Shots were so vile, murderous. The needles seem bloodthirsty, waiting to lay its fatal, grim blow upon my petrified flesh. There I would lie on the bed, stricken by needles of death. What have I done to deserve this cruel form of torture? The pain was far too great for a mere child to bear. As years went by I learn to overcome my fear of needles succumb to needles because it finally popped into my head that needles are not as bad as I think they are and nurses are truly gentle, kind people that are willing to assist a patient in need at anytime when needed. There is one thing that is ironic about this blog which is that I want a career in the medical field.

  5. Zafrir, YahavThe last time I went to the hospital when a nuse came in the room was when it was the last time I saw my grandma before she died. But they were very nice they were really helpful to me and my grandma. They took me to get cookies and milk. I never saw anything negative me or to any of my family members. So i have nothing negative about nurses.

  6. Perez, DeziA positive nursing experience that I have had is that i had to get and MRI on my shoulders and it was really boring so I fell asleep and I couldn't move for like 30mins,and if I moved they had to start over, but I keep moving. The nurses that where there didn't get mad at me or anything. It took about and hour.

  7. Molina, NatalieWhen I was 8 years old, I had to go to the Doctors to get a shot on my butt. I was completely terrified and embarrassed. I didn't know what to expect. The nurses were really nice to me and they told me everything would be Ok. I mean, the shot hurt and I couldn't walk after, but thanks to them I wasn't as nervous as I could have been.

  8. Saiz, Amy Through out my life I've been to clinics but not for anything seriuos. Febuary of this year Ihad a mild allergic reaction, and I was taken on a ambulance. When I got to the emergency room the nurses were caring and told me everything was going to be okay. They prescribe me an inhaler and after that i've been okay.

  9. Saiz, Amy *** perscribed

  10. Leonela melo-DutschmannA positive experience from the nures was when i got an asthma attack one day when i was little. And when i got to the hosiptal the nures were so generous and caring and would always check up on me. And when i stayed there for 3 days the nures would talk to me and they were really nice.A negative experience was when one day i fell off the stairs and i almost fractured my hip and when i got to the hospital, they made me wait for a life time but at the end they attened me and it wasnt that good…

  11. Anthony YactayoI remember this time when i went to a clinic to get a shot. It was my first time that I get it so i was worried. When I arrived to the the clinic they said to not to worry & that it was going to be quick & in reality I trusted them. Then when it came to my time to get my shot I met this nurse that said their was a trick to over come that. Then as a kid I wanted to learn anything to make this shot to be smother. She said to me that if I close my eyes & hold my dads hand tight it woldent even hurt. So i did what she said & it was true. After that day i was never afriad of shots. I always thanked that nurse for wat she did for me.

  12. Nguyen, MichelleThe last time I went to the hospital is when my youngest brother had a high fever of 107. My mom woke me up in the middle of the night so I can come and translate for her at the hospital. The nurses were really nice and treated my brother well. I liked the way that my brother got well really fast.

  13. Ardila, LuisThe last time I went to the hospital is when my mom had a really bad stomach ache. I was home watching a basketball game and my mom said she didn't feel good, so I told her she should go to the hospital. It was like 12 at night and my mom couldnt drive so I called ny aunt to take us. When we got to the emergency room they took her right in(we didnt have to wait) and they started asking questions and starting tests to see what she really had. All the doctors where really nice and the nurses were even better. They brought us food and drinks and made not only my mom comfortable but me and my aunt. This story an be way long but at the end my mom was good and still is and we had wonderful care from thr nurses. Thank You for being out there.

  14. Hall, MattHonestly I use to live at the hospital. I have done so many things to my body as far as major cuts, burns and broken bones that the doctors know me by name know that is probably not the best thing to be known by. But as far as nurses go I have to say that they really help people that are in pain. They have helped me by comforting me when I was in pain, and playing games and blowing bubbles to keep me occupied to not focus on the injury.

  15. Hall, MattHonestly I use to live at the hospital. I have done so many things to my body as far as major cuts, burns and broken bones that the doctors know me by name know that is probably not the best thing to be known by. But as far as nurses go I have to say that they really help people that are in pain. They have helped me by comforting me when I was in pain, and playing games and blowing bubbles to keep me occupied to not focus on the injury.

  16. Perez, SteveOnce I had to go to the emergency hospital when I was seven because I had a strange feeling on the right side of my waist. The doctor said that I had an appendix that was an infection and he needed to remove it out of my body before it pops. After the process I needed to stay at the hospital for one week, so then there were different types of nurses coming in my room to put antibiotic inside my veins every day. Another thing the nurses did is helped me try to walk again before I can go back home. Finally the last thing they did for me was serving me food and starting a conversation with me so that I don't get bored. I am trying to say that the nurses were kind to me and give treatments when I need them, without them I will have never been alive right now.

  17. Vigness, KevinMy grandma used to be nurse, before she used to get back to her house after we got there. Then stuff happened that kept her from working there full time. But there are good memories of that the one little thing that you miss.

Leave a comment