Blog due May 23 Wed at 11:59 PM-

Between now and the end of the year, we are going to read an article and analyzed it with Reading Strateges about “Overweight children and the Eating of McDonald’s” anad their policy to include toys with the Happy Meal. Last summer when I was in Guatemala, I learned that over 45% of the children are undernourished.  That does not equate to Malnourished which has the prefix “mal” which means BAD.  No it means they don’t have enough food.
Write a blog about not having enough food. Or else one about being morbidly obese as a child as the ones in these pictures are.  Did you like Happy Meals as a kid? You have several options to pick from here. Only 9 of you did the last blog, so that means 6 took a zero. SAD

13 responses to “Blog due May 23 Wed at 11:59 PM-

  1. Nguyen. MichelleAs a child, my parents would always buy me McDonald's whenever I wanted. I used to love it, always devouring it and wanting more. Also, as a child I would always get a happy meal cheeseburger and chicken nuggets. As I grew older, I ate more. I would always get two big macs and large fries. No lie. Since that day Ms. Hardy told us what was in the meat, I never ate McDonald's. My dad would always ask me if I wanted McDonald's and I keep refussing. He thinks that something wrong with me, but I dont care. I like being healthy.

  2. Turner, JessicaI have always stayed at normal weight even since I was a little kid but I can say that any fast food resturant brings the little kids in y the free toys with there meal or the filthy playground they offer. I remember when I used to beg my mom for Mc Donalds and even Taco Bell but after finding out whats really in that food just discusted me. I don't enter anymore fast food places till this day. I am trying to get my sister to get into the same habits as me but she loves when she can collect the little smurf toys that they gave out one time. Soon she will realize what these fast food resturants are doing to her. It's also hard for a mother to say "no" when your child is bothering you for food every five seconds.

  3. Gleason, MichaelWhen I was younger I always had the option for Lunch and Dinner, it was always "McDonalds or Burger King?" That was the first nine years of my life. That's all I really knew. I knew that everyone my age ate it, so it was the right thing. I was probably 150 when I was 11 and I knew this was wrong so the day I turned 12 I stopped eating that food forever. I am now 15 and I weigh 130. I can never say I personally was malnourished, and I hope to never be malnourished. Those McDonalds stores really get you and it adds up. People DO become unhealthy and develop problems later on in life because of it. Come to think of it, Happy Meals aren't so happy.

  4. Merus, Richard I find this blog to be a bit difficult because I never been overweight or malnourished in my life. I personally do not like McDonalds due to repulsive taste of the meals. I never had a Big Mac because of the excessive calories, cholesterol, and fats. It’s basically a heart attack on a plate. Mostly everything I eat is grilled or baked. I try to stay away from fast food. But I do enjoy subs from Subway or Quiznos.

  5. Perez, DeziI have never been overweight, I've been underweight but it wasn't from having enough food. I just didn't eat that much when I was little, but I just grew out of it I guess cause now I eat alot(or so I've been told). My Mom hates McDonalds so I really didn't go. And its okay I guess if i go I'd probably just get two fish sandwiches, large fries, ice tea, and like a 8 pack of nuggets. And it doesn't really matter what I eat, because I have a high metabolism, and very active, so I'll just burn it off.

  6. Zafrir, YahavAs a child i would never eat, if i did eat then it would take me forever to finish it. I was always told that i was a very slow eater. My dad loved fast food places so we did eat but i would only eat 4 nuggets and small fries, i loved happy meals. I loved getting the toys. I never finish anything on my plate. I did alot of dance, gymnastics,and cheer leading as a child so i was never hungry after sports. I still am not. My dad and i do sports but my brother and mom do not. We all have not eaten fast food for about 3, 4 years. If we do go to fast food places we just get salad. I love my sports.

  7. Perez, SteveAs a child, my mom is always asking me if I wanted anything to eat and I always say no but the idea she got was to buy me McDonalds. When I first tasted McDonalds I was obsess with it, so I started to ignored all the healthy foods and tell my mom to buy me a Happy Meal with a large drink not a little one. After I wasted my time eating only McDonalds I started to see that I got weaker and slower when it comes to sports and also saw that my stomach got larger. So I gave up McDonalds and started to exercise and workout which was hard with the extra weight. This process helped me a lot but I will always remember the time that I was overweight and lazy because no one is perfect and sometimes we make the wrong decisions.

  8. Molina, NatalieAt the age of 10, I had arrived to Florida from Colombia, and stayed with my Dad for a long time. Since there's not many McDonalds in Colombia, I would eat it almost every other day ever since I had gotten to Florida. Within the months, I kept gaining weight and I would get sick really often. I had gotten really chubby and my family was noticing it. I started realizing this fast food was really unhealthy and it was getting me out of shape. My parents told me to stop eating from fast food restaurants, and to watch what I eat. Since then, I barely ever go to any fast food restaurants, and I maintain myself in shape and healthy.

  9. Ardila, Luis p. 3 When I was a kid I ate at McDonalds but not frequently. I liked how it tasted, and the fact that they give it to you seconds after ordering it but then I realized that it wasn't healthy. I'm glad I didnt find out the way other people did but gaining weight and other stuff. I found out that after I'd eat McDonalds Id get a stomache ache and I knew if I kepted eating it would get worse. So I stopped eating as frequentally but sometimes I just want to eat it. After watching "Supersize Me" I wasn't so excited to go eat McDonalds. Stay healthy!

  10. Vigness, KevinI never ate at mc donalds as a kid but I did eat at other fast food places. We knew it wasn't healthy but we didn't go frequently enough to make it extremly unhealthy.

  11. Gonzalez, ChrisEver since I was kid, I was very small, full of energy, and skinny. I did a lot of exercise. So I figured that since I'm skinny and exercise, I could pig out at any fast food. I'm talking about 3 cheeseburger as snack,dessert,and dinner. Overtime I felt the need to eat to begin diminishing and begin to refuse eating so much as a piece of bread.

  12. Melo-Dutschmann LeonelaWhen i was little, I'm pretty sure that i never had McDonald's or fast food places because i'd always eat at home.So i never had a choice. So i always stayed healthy. But there was one point in my life where my mom had to work a lot and that's when i started eating McDonald's and any fast food.And when that happen i started being unhealthy. But now that I've been a vegetarian for 3 months, I've hadn't eaten McDonald's since. And since than I've been really healthy with lots of energy.

  13. Anthony YactayoWell when I first came to the US my mother couldent fin the Markets to find the natural food so all the times we would go to McDonalds.Then when my mother found the markets we barly go to McD's. Now adays we go to subway.

Leave a comment